

ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN



(Eusuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)

ECB/NOTIF-01/2013/3031

Dated: 24th of April 2013

NOTIFICATION

Subject: Declaration of the Results of the National Council Elections 2013 for

the Second Parliament of Bhutan

The Election Commission of Bhutan is pleased, as per Section 444 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan 2008, to hereby declare the Election Results of the National Council Elections, 2013 for information of the general public.

Out of the total **67** Candidates who contested the National Council Elections, the **20** who have been elected by the voters of the 20 Dzongkhags to be their representative as the Members of the National Council of the Second *Parliament* of the Kingdom of Bhutan are:

Sl. No.	Name	CID/VPIC	Dzongkhag	Photo
1	Nima	10103000508	Bumthang	
2	Pema Tenzin	11410006470	Chhukha	

3	Sonam Dorji	10305001620	Dagana	
4	Sangay Khandu	10402000085	Gasa	
5	Tshering Dorji	10501000467	Наа	
6	Tempa Dorji	10602000012	Lhuentse	
7	Sonam Wangchuk	10710001978	Monggar	
8	Kaka Tshering	10811001791	Paro	
9	Jigme Rinzin	10905002564	Pema Gatshel	
10	Rinzin Dorji	11009001202	Punakha	
11	Jigme Wangchuk	11104002493	Samdrup Jongkhar	

12	Sangay Khandu	11216000365	Samtse	
13	Dhan Bdr. Monger	11303001900	Sarpang	
14	Nima Gyeltshen	11402000256	Thimphu	
15	Sonam Kinga	11513002276	Trashigang	
16	Tashi Phuntsho	11607002667	Trashi Yangtse	
17	Tharchen	11703001857	Trongsa	
18	Kamal Bahadur Gurung	11806001593	Tsirang	
19	Tashi Dorji	11913000025	Wangdue Phodrang	
20	Pema Dakpa	12001001711	Zhemgang	

Out of **379,819** registered voters in the 20 Dzongkhags **171,544** voters exercised their franchise. 147,577 of them cast their votes in person on the Electronic Voting Machines in the 850 Polling Stations and 23967 voters through the Postal Ballots.

The Voter Turnout percentage is 45.16 %.

The Final Results are available on the Election Commission's web page www.election-bhutan.org.bt/NCResult2013

Upon issue of this Notification, the National Council shall be deemed to have been duly constituted under Section 452 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008.

The general public is also advised that the Election Petition period starts from today and shall end at 5.00 p.m. of 8th of May 2013.

Issued on the Fourteenth Day of the Third Month of the Water Female Snake Year corresponding to 24th of April 2013.

(Kunzang Wangdi)

Chief Election Commissioner of Bhutan

Copies to:

- 1. Hon'ble Prime Minister, Royal Government of Bhutan, Kingdom of Bhutan
- 2. Hon'ble Chief Justice of Bhutan, Royal Court of Justice, Supreme Court of Bhutan, Thimphu
- 3. Hon'ble Chairperson, National Council, Parliament of Bhutan, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 4. Hon'ble Officiating Chief Justice, Royal Court of Justice, High Court of Bhutan, Thimphu
- 5. Hon'ble Secretary to His Majesty the King of Bhutan, His Majesty's Secretariat, Tashichhodzong, Thimphu
- 6. Hon'ble Secretary to His Majesty, Secretariat of Druk Gyal Zhipa, Thimphu
- 7. Hon'ble Chief Operations Officer, Royal Bhutan Army, Tashichhodzong, Thimphu
- 8. Hon'ble Commandant, Royal Body Guards, Dechhen-Chhoeling, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 9. Hon'ble Chairperson, Royal Civil Service Commission, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 10. Hon'ble Chairperson, Anti-Corruption Commission, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 11. Hon'ble Auditor General, Royal Audit Authority, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 12. Hon'ble Cabinet Secretary, Royal Government of Bhutan, Tashichhoedzong, Thimphu
- 13. All Hon'ble Secretaries to the Royal Government of Bhutan
- 14. Hon'ble Chief of Police, Royal Bhutan Police, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 15. Hon'ble President, Bhutan Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 16. Dzongdag, Dzongkhag Administration, All Dzongkhags
- 17. Drangpon, Royal Court of Justice, All Dzongkhags/ Dungkhags
- 18. Election Security Coordinator, Royal Bhutan Police, Thimphu
- 19. Chief Election Coordinator, 20 Dzongkhag
- 20. Dy. Chief Election Coordinator, All Dzongkhag
- 21. Assistant Chief Election Coordinator, 205 Gewogs
- 22. All Thrompons, 4 Dzongkhag
- 23. National Observers
- 24. Micro Observers
- 25. Returning Officers
- 26. Assistant Returning Officers
- 27. Office of Media Arbitrator, Thimphu
- 28. Dzongkhag Electoral Officers, 20 Dzongkhags

- 29. Dungpa, All Dungkhag Administrations
- 30. Gups, 205 Gewogs
- 31. Postal Ballot Focal Officers, Armed Forces
- 32. Managing Director, BBSC, Thimphu.
- 33. Managing Director, Kuensel Corporation, Thimphu.
- 34. Managing Director, Bhutan Times, Thimphu.
- 35. Managing Director, Bhutan Observer, Thimphu.
- 36. Managing Director, Bhutan Today, Thimphu.
- 37. Managing Director, Business Bhutan, Thimphu.
- 38. Managing Director, The Journalist, Thimphu.
- 39. Managing Director, Dzongkha Neytsuel, Thimphu.
- 40. Chief Executive Officer, Radio Valley, Thimphu.
- 41. Coordinator, Kuzoo FM, Thimphu.
- 42. Chief Executive Officer, Centennial Radio, Thimphu.
- 43. Chief Executive Officer, Radio High, Thimphu.
- 44. Chief Executive Officer, Radio Waves, Thimphu.
