• 1961 The first graduation ceremony is held to confer the degree of Master of Engineering on eight students
  • 1962 Students from India, Malaysia and Taiwan join AIT, establishing a truly regional school
  • 1963 Prof. Milton E. Bender, Jr. arrived from Colorado State University to succeed Prof. Holcomb as Dean.
  • 1967 The Constituent Assembly of Thailand approves legislation for the Charter of the Asian Institute of Technology.
  • 1967 The SEATO Graduate School of Engineering becomes the Asian Institute of Technology.
  • 1968 His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej of Thailand presides over the Eighth Graduation, the first in which AIT conferred its own degrees.
  • 1969 The AIT Alumni Association (AITAA) is established.